Playing Hands

Brotherly Love

Mike’s toy

Mike’s favorite toy was a slinky. I took a photograph of him playing with it on one of my first visits to his Day Program. Mike is my older brother. He is autistic, low functioning and nonverbal. After living in a large institution for a good portion of his life, Mike was placed in a group home. I used to visit him there and at his Day Program, where the staff provided activities for all their clients.

Since the point of this recent series of posts is gesture, I do not republish the photograph here. But I encourage you to see the post in which it was originally published. I am very proud of that picture.

Today’s study

Hand Gestures - Mike's hands playing with a slinky toy Playing with Slinky
7″x10″ 140# Rough Watercolor Block

The emphasis of the original photograph is not on Mike’s hands per se. I want to concentrate on the…

View original post 183 more words

Leave a Reply

