Taboo: Cannibalism

Cannibalism. The act or practice of humans eating the flesh or internal organs of other human beings. Disgusting. Gross. Taboo.

Image The self-eating snake: Ouroboros

Why is it taboo? Who marks it so? Should it be taboo? Should it be worth a punishment at all?

One can ask some deeply philosophical questions and push the topic to a whole new level.

I, on the other hand, present the following video from YouTube’s Vsauce.

Convinced? Perhaps not. I do not intend to promote cannibalism in any way. In fact, I wish to adopt the most convenient place in society- the one of the diplomatic observer who passively thinks about every single thing that occurs but doesn’t care enough to voice them out not for fear of judgment or punishment but just due to absolute laziness and lack of active interest.

One thing I do feel I should admit to: Rammstein. My favourite band and in my humble opinion, the best band to have ever been formed (and here is my absolute opinion. I do have an active interest for German industrial metal). Their song, ‘Mein Teil’, is an adaptation (or just a very disturbing interpretation) of the case of Armin Meiwes. Interesting video with a lot of missing links enough to influence a person to ponder. The video follows.

I know not how to react at this point. I would never claim that killing anyone for one’s own pleasure or hunger is a good thing. Nor in any way do I believe that this is what the Creator intended. But honestly, I do maintain the belief that you cannot kill what you did not create. Hence you can kill nothing at all, not the tiny ant nor the majestic elephant. You can’t kill the pesky mosquito who has the cheek to bite you on the soles of your feet. You can’t kill your own children as you aren’t the only person who created them (now if you discuss this with your spouse and feel that the Creator had, for some ignorant opinion of yours, no part in the creation of your child, then go ahead! Law enforcement will get to you. And if they fail, your guilty conscience will kill you). That said, if you do kill a hen for your meal, why stop from killing a human? It is for food after all!

Post scriptum: I am a proud vegetarian. I only eat myself and the bacteria that float in the air around me.

Leave a Reply

